Skip to content
Tom Vonder Haar
CIRA Fellow

Professor Tom Vonder Haar

University Distinguished Professor, Atmospheric Science Department, Colorado State University

Mailing Address:
Prof. Tom Vonder Haar
Cooperative Institute for Research in the Atmosphere
Colorado State University
1375 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1375
  • Office Location:
    AATS 115
  • 970-491-8566
About Me:

Research Interests: 

Satellite meteorology, atmospheric radiation, climate studies


Current Research Projects: 

Professor Vonder Haar was the Principal Investigator on a multi-million dollar contract in support of the Department of Defense Geosciences research as well as other grants from organizations such as the National Aeronautics and Space Administration, the United States Air Force, and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.


Contributions to the Scientific, Educational, and Outreach Mission of CIRA:

Professor Vonder Haar has over 50 years of research and teaching experience in the field of Satellite Meteorology.  He has co-authored the first textbook in this area:  Satellite Meteorology – An Introduction, Academic Press, 1995.  In addition to the textbook, he has authored/coauthored over 600 publications and presentations in his field.  Currently, he is University Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Atmospheric Science at Colorado State University, Fort Collins, Colorado, and one of the CSU UDP group comprising about 1% of the faculty.  He is a charter member of the CloudSat Mission Science Team and a current member of the NASA Libera Science Team for new Earth Radiation Budget observations from the JPSS satellites.  He is active on several American Meteorological Society and National Academy Advisory Committees.  In his years at Colorado State University, he has served as the M.S. advisor for 100 students and Ph.D. advisor for 30 students, most of whom are now professionals in Satellite Meteorology and related areas of Atmospheric Science.  Among other national and international honors and awards, he was elected in 2003 to the National Academy of Engineering.